Governance of IPEM

IPEM is a charity registered with the Charity Commissioners of England and Wales (Reg. No. 1047999) and a Company Limited by Guarantee (Reg. No. 3080332).

Registration as a charity in Scotland (and Northern Ireland) is not necessary because the Institute's operations in these jurisdictions do not fall within the registration criteria.

IPEM is governed in accordance with its Articles of Association, which were last updated on 3 September 2013.

Click on the Articles of Association and Rules

IPEM Investment Policy

Board of Trustees 

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the Institute and the Trustees are collectively and separately responsible for ensuring good governance and that all Institute activities are in accordance with the objects of the Institute and other legislative requirement. Members of the Board of Trustees are of varied backgrounds and experience. Individually and collectively they exercise independent and objective judgement on behalf of the Institute.  

The Board of Trustees meets four times a year and the Chairman of the Board in 2020/2021 is President Dr Robert Farley.

Other Board Members:


Immediate Past President 

Professor Stephen O'Connor  

Honorary Secretary (Independent)

Ms Valerie Joliffe


Honorary Treasurer

Mr John Turner


Director, Professional & Standards Council

Mr Richard Stubbs


Director, Science, Research & Innovation Council

Dr Andrew Reilly  

Member Trustee

Ms Claire Hardiman


Member Trustee

Mr Iain Threlkeld


Member Trustee

Dr Benjamin Metcalfe


Independent Trustee 

Ms Chelsea Roche


Independent Trustee

Mr Jason Wilde

Independent Trustee  Dr Justin Richards  


Board of Trustees Meeting Dates 


Thursday 27th January    
Thursday 21st April   ​
Thursday 21st July  ​ ​
Thursday 13th October  ​ ​


Thursday 19th January  ​
Thursday 20th April
Thursday 20th July  ​
Thursday 19th October   ​


© Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine

Registered in England and Wales (No. 3080332)
Registered Charity (No.1047999)