Honorary Fellowship 

Honorary fellowship  is an acknowledgement of distinguished achievement in a particular vocation or specific area of professional activity, directly or indirectly, related to the field of physics and engineering in medicine and biology by a Non-Member of IPEM.

Examples of distinguished achievement include, but are not limited to


  • Research that has dramatically advanced patient diagnosis, treatment or clinical outcome

  • A nationally or internationally significant contribution to, or body of work in, a relevant scientific, academic or industrial field

Up to and including September 2021, 63 Honorary fellows or equivalent have been appointed to IPEM and its forerunner organisations.

The most recently appointed Honorary Fellows are:

  Professor Dr Willi Kalender (2015)
in recognition of 'his pioneering work, particularly on data acquisition, image reconstruction and dose management in CT'.
  Professor Marco Viceconti (2017)
in recognition of his work in musculoskeletal biomechanics and the use of subject-specific modelling to support the medical decision. 
Dr Allisy-Roberts receiving Honorary Fellowship Award from IPEM President Professor Steve Keevil 

Dr Penelope Allisy-Roberts (2014)
in recognition of “outstanding contributions to ionising radiation metrology and to the medical physics profession."

 Professor Lionel Tarassenko

Professor Lionel Tarassenko (2014)
in recognition of “outstanding contributions to biomedical engineering and to the broader engineering community.”

 Professor Steve Webb receiving Honorary Fellowship Award from IPEM President Professor Steve Keevil

Professor Steve Webb (2014)
in recognition of “outstanding contributions to radiotherapy physics, to teaching and to scientific publishing”.

  Mrs Vivienne Parry OBE (2019)
Writer and Broadcaster                 
in recognition of her contribution to raising the profile of healthcare science      

Professor Marcel van Herk (2019)
in recognition of the development and implementation of advanced radiotherapy systems.

  Image result for Angela Douglas Science. Size: 131 x 160. Source: www.ahcs.ac.uk Angela Douglas MBE (2021)
In recognition of her outstanding contribution to healthcare science.


If you wish to nominate someone please complete the  Nomination form which includes guidance notes.

The Current List of Honorary Fellows




© Institute of Physics and Engineering in Medicine

Registered in England and Wales (No. 3080332)
Registered Charity (No.1047999)